Fun on the Golf Course!

The Kennebunk-Kennebunkport-Arundel Chamber of Commerce hosted its 25th Annual Golf Tournament on Monday, June 16th at the Dutch Elm Golf Club in Arundel.  27 teams kicked off the Scramble Shotgun at 12:00 p.m.

The beautiful 18 hole course at Dutch Elm was at its best and weather conditions were excellent.  Players enjoyed over four hours of play and retired to the clubhouse for cocktails and dinner. The foursome from Bibber Memorial Chapel took top (gross) honors finishing first with captain Eddie Bibber, Mike Mackinnon, Tom Plante and Keith Lefebvre with a 62 (mc) for the course.  They were followed closely by Nvest Financial Group and George Raftopoulos, Nicole Raftopoulos, Joe Alvarez and John Kreie finishing with a gross 62 (mc) for the day.  The net winners were the team of Tim Dee, Scott McMurtrie, Matt Deyo and Nick Wright finishing 1st with a (50) and the CW Plumbing and Heating Team of John Cesario, Greg Wildes, Matt Whitney and Brian Reid finishing 2nd with a (54.5).

Other honors included the longest women’s drive on hole # 5 by Michelle Yingling and the longest men’s drive on hole # 6 by Andrew Gibson.  Closest to the pin honors went to Joe Alvares on the 12th hole, falling 4’7” from the cup.  The putting contest winner was Matt Whitney.

Dutch Elm owner and manager Jeff Hevey and his staff made the day perfect for all attending, and he welcomed and thanked the sponsors and players at the buffet dinner immediately following in the clubhouse.  Chamber Executive Director, Denise Clavette, who joined in and played the full 18 holes, recognized Jeff and his excellent staff for their tireless efforts before and throughout the day, and praised the outstanding amenities of Dutch Elm.  She also recognized and thanked her co-chair for the tournament, Chris Doiron of Biddeford Savings for the many hours he devoted to preparing for the annual tournament.

Friendly rivalries and animated recollections of the day’s events prompted a large  group to remain for coffee and dessert well after the close of the program, putting an enjoyable end to a memorable day.

Thank you to the Chamber’s sponsors Kennebunk Savings, Weirs Buick GMC, Biddeford Savings, Gorham Savings Bank, Southern Maine Health Care, Norway Savings Bank, and Ocean Communities Federal Credit Union; hole in one sponsor, Weirs Buick GMC; and our numerous tournament sponsors, players and volunteers.

Proceeds from this annual event support the Chamber’s programs and services.  The Chamber is a not-for-profit (501c6) business association committed to supporting the economic success of its member businesses, and promoting economic vitality in the communities of Kennebunk, Kennebunkport and Arundel, Maine.

For more information or to participate, volunteer or sponsor the 2015 tournament, please contact Traci Freed at

Course May 09 008


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *